Four U.S. Legislators Launch The Congressional Cannabis Caucus

The legal cannabis movement gained a bit more support in Washington D.C. this week with the formation of the Congressional Cannabis Caucus.

A bipartisan quartet of lawmakers joined together for this group: Reps. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA), Jared Polis (D-CO) and Don Young (R-AK). They will work on policies that protect the growing cannabis industry. Particularly those that can help achieve accord between federal laws against cannabis and state laws that allow it.

“We’re stepping forward together to say we’ve got to make major changes in our country’s attitude toward cannabis,” Rep. Rohrabacher said during the press conference to announce the caucus. “And if we do, many people are going to live better lives, it’s going to be better for our country, better for people, and it makes economic sense at a time when every penny must count for government.”

Leading national cannabis policy reform organizations released a joint statement in support of the new caucus, including the Marijuana Policy Project, the Drug Policy Alliance, the National Cannabis Industry Association, NORML, Americans for Safe Access, Students for Sensible Drug Policy, Law Enforcement Action Partnership, Doctors for Cannabis Regulation, and Clergy for a New Drug Policy.

“We commend Representatives Blumenauer, Rohrabacher, Polis, and Young for their leadership on the issue of cannabis policy,” the statement said. “The establishment of a Cannabis Caucus will allow members from both parties, who represent diverse constituencies from around the country, to join together for the purpose of advancing sensible cannabis policy reform. It will also facilitate efforts to ease the tension between federal prohibition laws and state laws that regulate cannabis for medical and adult use.”